11/7/14 – Quick Update

WOEAIHF_fb_tmbGreetings!  It has been a while. I’ve been remiss with keeping up with my blog partly because I really haven’t had any extended thoughts that I would like to share. However, they say brevity is the soul of wit (well someone says that), so I thought I’d punctuate the day with a quick bullet point update:

  • In therapy I have been working on a “terms and purpose” exercise. The idea is to codify in very simple terms the rules I live by. These are things that I already do (or would like to do) for the most part. Example: “I take care of my health” is one of mine. The second half of the exercise is to codify my greater “purpose”. I’ve done this exercise before and written loads on it periodically in my personal journals. Lately, I’ve been having a little more trouble as artistically and vocationally I am in a period of  flux. I’m not sure how I would like to move forward. I’m open to any tips readers out there might have that have helped them in this arena! Leave a Comment Below.
  • Recently I attended my sister’s engagement party. Large family gatherings are always difficult for me because I’m an introvert (I usually put on a good mask of cordiality, but it’s an effort). It’s also difficult because the inevitable questions of “What do you do?” “Have I seen you in anything?” always come up. I’m fortunate because I can point to my recent appearances on SCANDAL or the B-Flick Nazis at the Center of the Earth (available on Netflix) as stuff people can watch. Still, it’s difficult to not feel a little down that maybe I’m not as successful as I would like, or the blank stares of not-quite-understanding why someone wants to be an artist. I have a lot of friends who just lie about what they do. What we do is often a label for others of who we are. What are your strategies (if you aren’t already one of my famous friends) for coping or making it through these occasions? Leave a Comment Below.
  • Currently plugging away at my novel. I’m about half-way through a re-write and am really enjoying the story I’ve created, but very anxious to have it all done. Soon enough I hope to have a few friends take a look and get their reactions and then try to start putting it out there. Any folks in the writing world have any suggestions? Create a facebook page first? Commission artwork? Look up agents? Perhaps I get ahead of myself, but it’s something that’s taking up a lot of my time and thoughts these days so… Leave a Comment Below.
  • Finally I am very happy to be appearing in a staged reading of Arcadia in North Hollywood 11/16/14 at 5PM.  Check out the LATEST NEWS section of my site for all the latest updates and info on this. Let me know if you want to see. Leave a Comment Below.

Until next time… As the great Stan Lee would say: EXCELSIOR!

Leave a comment